Culbertson, Thriffiley nominated for Lindy Callahan Award

BILOXI, Miss.- St. Patrick Catholic High School has named Avery Culbertson and Jameson Thriffiley as the school’s nominees for the Lindy Callahan Award. The awards are to honor Lindy Callahan, a longtime athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School, and a six-time Hall of Fame inductee.

“The administration and faculty have nominated Avery and James to represent St. Patrick for the MHSAA Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athlete Scholarship based on their exemplary scholastic and athletic efforts,” Principal Dr. Matt Buckley said. “Avery’s and James’s hard work and devotion to our school embody the mission of St. Patrick Catholic High School, and we are very proud of them.”

“These two exceptional student-athletes represent the very best we have at St. Patrick Catholic High School,” Athletic Director Trey Bailey said. “Not only are they leaders on the field, but in the classroom as well.”

Sixteen seniors from across the state will be announced as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2022. The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — are chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities.

Should one or both of these students are named to the award, each winner will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners like BankPlus, Mississippi Sports Medicine, C Spire, and Polk’s Meat Products.