New members inducted into the National English Honor Society

BILOXI, Miss- The St. Patrick Chapter of the National English Honor Society, The Seamus Heaney Chapter, inducted its new members and officers this morning.  The National English Honor Society (NEHS), founded and sponsored by Sigma Tau Delta, is the only national organization exclusively for high school students and faculty who, in the field of English, merit special note for past and current accomplishments.  Immediate benefits of affiliation are national recognition, scholarship eligibility, and national networking with others who share enthusiasm for and accomplishment in the language arts.

The St. Patrick chapter was founded in 2015, with Mrs. Amber Buckley as lead adviser, and was named the Seamus Heaney Chapter in recognition of Ireland’s most famous poet and a fellow Catholic.

Criteria for membership include having an overall 3.0 average as well as a 3.0 in English.  The organization tutors students in English and ACT practice. Several service projects are also sponsored by NEHS.

New members include seniors Connor Atwell, Gracie Davenport, Lauren Dossett, Todd Fayard II, Dylan Fontan, Avery King, Quinn LaGrone, Emily Miller, Camille Seghers, Macayla Wells.

Juniors Ella McLoughlin, Molly Moran, Andrew Roth, Robert Van Horn, Ali Ware.

Sophomores Laney Barton, Grace Belk, Molly Bowen, Avery Culbertson, Morgan Culbertson, Annalyn Fayard, Riley Goodhart, Dixie Graham, Nick Krass, Megan Marie, Anthony Mattina, Briggs Menendez, Caston Mestayer, Alayna Miller, Scarlet Nation, Olivia  Owens, Dominic Patino, Lexie Peters, Jameson Thriffiley, CC Ware, George Weatherly, Gully Yates.

2019-20 Officers are Beyla Bleichner, president; Dale Edwardson, vice-president; Micah Webb, secretary; Andrew Roth, treasurer; and Jacob Roberts, historian.

Current advisers are Gail Trahan, lead adviser; with English department teachers Jenna Farragut, Lauren Williams, and Jay Lynn as co-advisers.