VFW Post 6731 Award Winners Announced

BILOXI, Miss.- St. Patrick Catholic High School is proud to announce that three students have been named winners in the VFW Post 6731 The Voice of Democracy Essay Contest. Reece Catchot placed first earning a $300 scholarship. Luke Colson placed second, earning a $200 scholarship. Emerson Morris placed 3rd, earning a $100 scholarship.

Since 1947, the Voice of Democracy has been the Veterans of Foreign Wars’ (VFW’s) premier scholarship program. Each year, nearly 57,000  high school students compete for more than $2 million in  scholarships and incentives. Students compete by writing and  recording an audio essay on an annual patriotic theme. This year’s  theme is, America: Where do we go from here? 

Additionally, history teacher Orin Eleuterius has been named Teacher of the Year by the VFW Post 6731. St. Patrick Guidance Counselor Liz Wilkinson nominated him for the award. Mr. Eleuterius teaches various history courses at St. Patrick Catholic High School, including Advanced Placement and Dual Credit courses. In her nomination, Wilkinson talked about Eleuterius’ love for his country and all he does to teach his students about good citizenship, patriotism, respect and civic responsibility. Eleuterius will also receive a cash reward and commemorative plaque.


St. Patrick Catholic High School is a faith-based, college preparatory high school in Biloxi, Mississippi. Established in 2007, St. Patrick strives each day to Educate Scholars, Train Disciples, and Support Champions. St. Patrick is proud to report a 100% college matriculation rate, ACT and SAT scores that far exceed the state and national averages, and a rich history of Catholic education founded in the traditional roots of our legacy schools of St. John High School, Mercy Cross High School, Notre Dame High School, and Sacred Heart Academy. In 2019, St. Patrick was named a Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education.